The Young Investigator Award is presented to a physician who has completed pediatric infectious diseases fellowship training seven years or less from the award date and whose independent and productive research during and after fellowship represents outstanding contributions in pediatric infectious diseases.

Nominations are accepted from current PIDS members. Download the file below to learn more on the nomination requirements for the Young Investigator Award. Email the application package to PIDS Headquarters by Monday, July 15, 2020 at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

2020 Young Investigator Nomination Form

Past Recipients of the Young Investigator Award

  • 2018: James E. Cassat, MD, PhD
  • 2017: Pranita Tamma, MD
  • 2016: Michael Cohen-Wolkowiez, MD, PhD
  • 2015: Sallie Permar, MD, PhD
  • 2014: Aaron Milstone, MD, MHS
  • 2013: Saad Omer, MD, PhD
  • 2012: Stephanie Fritz, MD, MSCI and C. Buddy Creech, MD, MPH
  • 2011: Samir Shah, MD, MSCE
  • 2010: Natasha Halasa, MD, MPH
  • 2009: William J. Steinbach, MD
  • 2008: George Y. Liu, MD
  • 2007: John V. Williams, MD
  • 2006: Manuel Amieva, MD, PhD and Daniel Benjamin, MD, MPH, PhD
  • 2005: Hasan S. Jafri, MD
  • 2004: Chandy John, MD
  • 2003: Jesus G. Vallejo, MD
  • 2002: Victor Nizet, MD
  • 2001: Jennifer S. Read, MD, MS, MPH
  • 2000: James E. Crowe, Jr., MD and David B. Haslam, MD
  • 1999: Michael Cappello, MD and Marian G. Michaels, MD
  • 1998: Toni Darville, MD
  • 1997: James P. Nataro, MD, PhD
  • 1996: Joseph St. Geme, III, MD
  • 1995: Betsy Herold, MD
  • 1993: Peter Jay Hotez, MD, PhD
  • 1992: Anne Moscona, MD
  • 1991: Christian C. Patrick, MD
  • 1990: Hal B. Jenson, MD