PIDS Officers (2018 - 2019)

Paul Spearman, MD

Paul Spearman, MD, FPIDS: President

Cincinnati Children's
Cincinnati, Ohio

Paul Spearman, MD is the Albert B. Sabin professor and director of Infectious Diseases at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. His laboratory studies fundamental aspects of HIV biology and develops new vaccines for human pathogens. HIV assembly processes are a major focus of the laboratory, including the trafficking of the HIV envelope glycoprotein and its interaction with essential host factors. A related project studies the role of tetherin in restricting HIV replication, and is defining how the viral protein Vpu counteracts this important host restriction factor. A novel mucosal HIV vaccine based on parainfluenza virus type 5 (PIV5) priming and virus-like particle boosting is under evaluation in macaque models. Dr. Spearman and his colleagues are engaged in the design and performance of clinical trials for new vaccines in adults and children, with a special interest in employing cutting-edge technologies to define innate and adaptive immune responses to vaccines. 

Before moving to Cincinnati, Dr. Spearman was professor and vice chair for research in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University, and chief research officer for Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. While there he also served as co-director of the Emory Vaccine and Treatment Evaluation Unit (VTEU). Dr. Spearman currently serves on the Board of Scientific Counselors for NCI and frequently serves on study sections for NIAID. Beyond his research interests, Dr. Spearman is a pediatric ID clinician and enjoys caring for children and mentoring future leaders in Infectious Diseases.


Dr. Janet Gilsdorf

Janet R. Gilsdorf, MD, FPIDS: Past-President

University of Michigan Medical Center
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Dr. Janet Gilsdorf graduated from North Dakota State University and the University of Nebraska Medical School. She served as a pediatric resident at Baylor Affiliated Hospitals and at the Valley Medical Center in Fresno, California, and completed her pediatric infectious diseases fellowship at the University of Minnesota. She has been on the faculty of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor since 1982 where she presently serves at the Robert P. Kelch Professor of Pediatrics.

Dr. Gilsdorf has been an active member of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society since 1984. Currently she is Associate Editor of the Journal of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society. She served on the Board of Directors on the Infectious Diseases Society of America from 2005 – 2008 and currently serves on the Awards Committee and for the past three years has Co-Directed the Vincent Andriole Review Course at the annual IDSA (now IDWeek) meeting.

As Director of the Haemophilus influenzae Research Laboratory at the University of Michigan, Dr. Gilsdorf supervises studies of the structural, functional, immunologic, and epidemiologic properties of H. influenzae virulence factors. She serves as Co-Director of the Center for Molecular and Clinical Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases. Dr. Gilsdorf actively participates in the diagnosis and management of pediatric inpatients and outpatients at C. S. Mott Children’s Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and teaches in the M1 Microbiology and Infectious Diseases sequence at the Medical School. She participates in the clinical training of medical students, pediatric residents, and pediatric infectious diseases fellows.

Kristina Bryant, MD

Kristina Bryant, MD, FPIDS: President Elect

University of Louisville
Louisville, KY

Kristina Bryant, MD is Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Louisville, Director of the Kosair Charities Fellowship in Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Hospital Epidemiologist at Norton Children’s Hospital. The majority of her professional activity is devoted to clinical service, education of fellows and residents, and oversight of infection control and hospital epidemiology at Norton Children’s Hospital. Dr. Bryant’s research interests include vaccine clinical trials and prevention of healthcare-acquired infections. She has been a member of PIDS since 2000. Dr. Bryant has served on the PIDS Training Programs Committee since 2004 (member, 2004-2008, and chair or co-chair, 2008-present). Also since 2008, she has served as the moderator or co-moderator of the annual Pediatric Fellows’ Day Program held during IDWeek. She completed a four-year term on the PIDS Board of Directors in 2016 and currently serves as the PIDS liaison to the SHEA Board of Trustees. She also represents PIDS on the IDSA Training Programs Committee, and is the PIDS liaison to the Council of Pediatric Subspecialties.

Buddy Creech, MD

Buddy Creech MD, MS, FPIDS: Secretary-Treasurer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

C. Buddy Creech, MD, MPH is Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Director of the Vanderbilt Vaccine Research Program, and Director of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr. Creech is Principal Investigator of the NIH-funded Vaccine and Treatment Evaluation Unit and co-PI for the CDC-funded Clinical Immunization Safety Assessment Project. His work focuses on the evaluation of new vaccines and therapeutics targeting a number of pathogens, including S. aureus, influenza, RSV, C. difficile, and pertussis. Dr. Creech also serves as Associate Editor for the Journal of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society (JPIDS) and Chair of the PIDS Research Committee.

Members at Large

Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD (2018-2022)
University of South Dakota - Sanford School of Medicine
Vermillion, SD

Susan E. Coffin, MD, FPIDS (2016-2020)
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

Ravi Jhaveri, MD, FPIDS (2015-2019)
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Grace Lee, MD, MPH, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Yvonne A. Maldonado, MD, FPIDS (2016-2020)
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Jason Newland, MD, MEd, FPIDS (2017-2021)
Washington University
St. Louis, MO

Debra Palazzi, MD, MEd, FPIDS (2017-2021)
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Adam J. Ratner, MD, MPH, FPIDS (2018-2022)
New York University
New York, NY

Andi Shane, MD, MPH, MSc, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

William Steinbach, MD, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC