PIDS Officers (2016 - 2017)

Dr. Janet Gilsdorf

Janet R. Gilsdorf, MD, FPIDS - President

University of Michigan Medical Center
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Dr. Janet Gilsdorf graduated from North Dakota State University and the University of Nebraska Medical School. She served as a pediatric resident at Baylor Affiliated Hospitals and at the Valley Medical Center in Fresno, California, and completed her pediatric infectious diseases fellowship at the University of Minnesota. She has been on the faculty of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor since 1982 where she presently serves at the Robert P. Kelch Professor of Pediatrics.

Dr. Gilsdorf has been an active member of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society since 1984. Currently she is Associate Editor of the Journal of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society. She served on the Board of Directors on the Infectious Diseases Society of America from 2005 – 2008 and currently serves on the Awards Committee and for the past three years has Co-Directed the Vincent Andriole Review Course at the annual IDSA (now IDWeek) meeting.

As Director of the Haemophilus influenzae Research Laboratory at the University of Michigan, Dr. Gilsdorf supervises studies of the structural, functional, immunologic, and epidemiologic properties of H. influenzae virulence factors. She serves as Co-Director of the Center for Molecular and Clinical Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases. Dr. Gilsdorf actively participates in the diagnosis and management of pediatric inpatients and outpatients at C. S. Mott Children’s Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and teaches in the M1 Microbiology and Infectious Diseases sequence at the Medical School. She participates in the clinical training of medical students, pediatric residents, and pediatric infectious diseases fellows.

Dr. David Kimberlin

David W. Kimberlin, MD, FPIDS - Past-President

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama

Dr. Kimberlin is a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where he holds the Sergio Stagno Endowed Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases and is Co-Director of the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases. He leads the pediatric studies conducted by the Collaborative Antiviral Study Group, and with the CASG has defined the standard of care for the antiviral treatment of neonatal herpes simplex virus infections and congenital cytomegalovirus disease. He also is Editor of the American Academy of Pediatrics Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases.

Paul Spearman, MD

Paul Spearman, MD, FPIDS: President-Elect

Dr. Spearman is Professor of Pediatrics and Chief, Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Pediatrics, Emory University School of Medicine and Chief Research Officer, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. His professional activities include Pediatric Infectious Diseases clinical care, education, and research. Dr. Spearman directs a large clinical division with a busy clinical ID practice and a strong fellowship program. He also leads an NIH-funded basic laboratory program focusing on HIV biology and pathogenesis, a clinical trials unit focused on vaccine trials in children (VTEU), and a clinical trials unit focused on the treatment and prevention of HIV/AIDS in pregnant women, children, and adolescents (IMPAACT network).

Charles Woods, MD

Charles Woods MD, MS, FPIDS: Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Woods is Acting Chair and Executive Vice Chair, Professor of Pediatric – Infectious Diseases, Department of Pediatrics at the University of Louisville School of Medicine. His predominant activity the past several years has been administrative. Current departmental duties include financial management, faculty development, and roles in the physician practice plan. Dr. Woods also has experience in working with institutional investment fund managers. He directs his Department’s multidisciplinary health services research unit and oversees a small laboratory that provides bacterial strain typing support for hospital infection control. Dr. Woods attends four weeks per year on the inpatient pediatric infectious disease service and remains active year round in the teaching missions of the Division and Department. He has received multiple teaching awards, including the Distinguished Educator Award from the University of Louisville School of Medicine in 2012.

Susan E. Coffin, MD, FPIDS (2016-2020)
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

C. Buddy Creech, MD, FPIDS (2013-2017)
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee

Ravi Jhaveri, MD, FPIDS (2015-2019)
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Grace Lee, MD, MPH, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Yvonne A. Maldonado, MD, FPIDS (2016-2020)
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Ann-Christine Nyquist, MD, MSPH, FPIDS (2014-2018)
Children's Hospital Colorado
Denver, Colorado

Jennifer S. Read, MD, MPH, DTMH, FPIDS (2014-2018)
Washington, DC

Andi Shane, MD, MPH, MSc, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

William Steinbach, MD, FPIDS (2015-2019)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC